Monte Cristo Awards

Now accepting 2018 Monte Cristo nominations!

We are now accepting nominations for the 2018 Monte Cristo awards. Submit your nominations online or download the nomination form to mail to the Office of Neighborhoods. Nominations are welcomed and encouraged from anyone who recognizes the beauty and attractiveness of properties anywhere within the city limits of Everett. 2018 nominations close July 1, 2018. More information about the award categories can be found below. 

Please include a color photograph (or several) of the street view of the property you are nominating that includes a view of the home/business and front landscaping (like the photos in the slideshow above). Photos can be sent to the Office of Neighborhoods with your printed nomination form, or submitted online using the online form. 


Created in 1994 by a committee of residents working with the Office of Neighborhoods, the Monte Cristo Awards recognize neighbors who help make Everett special by taking pride in their property. The awards inspire other neighbors to improve their homes and landscapes. Business owners are recognized for the visual street appeal of their business locations. The Council of Neighborhoods chooses award winners from properties that have been nominated by the community.

4 Monte Cristo Categories

There are 4 award categories:
  • Green Gardening - This award is given to homeowners who have implemented natural or green gardening practices.
  • Neighborhood Friendly Business - This award is given to businesses that rate high in overall visual quality from the street view.
  • Pride of the Neighborhood - Homes and yards that consistently look their best deserve this award.
  • Rejuvenation and Transformation - These are residential properties that have changed for the better, transformed by the owners to be a visual asset.

Marian Krell Award

The Marian Krell Award honors a prior Monte Cristo award recipient who has excelled in the maintenance of their property over several years time. The winners of this award are chosen by the Office of Neighborhoods director, for exceptional care and attractiveness of their home and landscape. The award is named for the late Marian Krell, former director of the Office of Neighborhoods.